12 يناير 2023

ترحيل كاتبة كويتية أميركية يثير ضجة على مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي

شبه الجزيرة/مجتمع

الخبر: أثار اعتقال وترحيل ناشطة وكاتبة كويتية أميركية بارزة لدى وصولها إلى الكويت، ضجة على مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي. فمنى كريم التي تعيش في الولايات المتحدة تنتمي إلى مجتمع البدون المؤلف من الأفراد الذين لم يتم منحهم الجنسية بعد استقلال الكويت عن بريطانيا في عام 1961. ووسط رد الفعل العنيف، أشار بعض المعلقين إلى أن كريم رُحّلت بسبب آرائها السياسية وانتمائها لمجتمع البدون.

التغطية: ذكرت قناة العربي الجديد المرتبطة بقطر في 4 يناير/كانون الثاني أن "الجدل" حول البدون في الكويت "تجدد عندما منعت السلطات الكويتية كريم من دخول البلاد لزيارة عائلتها." وخلال احتجازها في الكويت، طلبت كريم تقديم الدعم لها على تويتر، وكتبت: "حُرمت من [زيارة] عائلتي لمدة عشر سنوات ... فكرة أن يستمر حرماني من أهلي لبقية عمري ترعبني."

  • أوضحت العربي الجديد أن الناشطة الكويتية الأميركية البالغة من العمر 35 عامًا وصلت إلى الكويت قادمةً من بيروت في 3 يناير/كانون الثاني، مشيرة إلى أن كريم كغيرها من البدون غالبًا ما يواجهون التمييز بسبب افتقارهم إلى الجنسية والحقوق المدنية الأساسية.

  • أوضح الناشط الكويتي من فئة البدون عبد الحكيم الفضلي أنه "بعد المضايقات المستمرة، هُجرت [كريم] خارج الكويت في عام 2011، وأكملت دراسات الماجستير والدكتوراه وحصلت على الجنسية الأميركية." كما أعرب عن...

قم بالتسجيل بقيمة مجاني لمتابعة القراءة.

يساعدنا التسجيل على توفير تغطية متميزة لأهم القضايا في المنطقة.

فريق امواج.ميديا
فريق امواج.ميديا
يقوم فريقنا بكتابة مقالات أمواج. ميديا. ... سيرة كاملة
Englishإنجليزي
Englishإنجليزي
فارسیفارسي
فارسیفارسي

Jan. 12, 2023

Deportation of Kuwaiti-American writer stirs social media outcry

Peninsula/Society

The story: The detention and deportation of a prominent Kuwaiti-American activist and writer upon her arrival in Kuwait has sparked an outcry on social media. US-based Mona Kareem is part of the sheikhdom’s Bidoon community—individuals who were not granted citizenship following Kuwait’s independence from Britain in 1961. Amid the backlash, some commentators have suggested that Kareem was deported due to her political views and Bidoon heritage. 

The coverage: Qatar-linked Al-Araby Al-Jadeed reported on Jan. 4 that “the controversy” over Kuwait’s Bidoon “was renewed when Kuwaiti authorities prevented Kareem from entering the country to visit her family.” Amid her detention in Kuwait, Kareem pleaded for support on Twitter, writing that she “has been deprived of [visiting] her family for ten years…and thinking of being deprived of my family for the rest of my life terrifies me.” 

  • Al-Araby Al-Jadeed detailed that the 35-year-old Kuwaiti-American activist arrived from Beirut on Jan. 3, noting how Kareem and other Bidoon often face discrimination because of their lack of citizenship and basic civil rights. 

  • Kuwaiti Bidoon activist Abdelhakim Al-Fadhli explained that “after continuous harassment, she [Kareem] was expelled from Kuwait in 2011, completed her master’s and doctoral studies and obtained US citizenship.” He further lamented...

Register for free to continue reading.

Registering helps us deliver original coverage of the region's most important issues.

Amwaj.media
Amwaj.media
Amwaj. media articles are authored by our team. ... Full Bio
فارسیPersian
فارسیPersian
عربيArabic
عربيArabic